Blog Post

02 Oct
By: Evans Sirma 0

Governor Sang unveils His Cabinet Nominees

Nandi County Governor Stephen Sang has nominated ten people to serve as county executive committee members in his cabinet

Those named on Friday include Alfred Lagat (Finance and Economic Planning), Elly Kurgat (Sports and Youth Affairs), Ruth Koech (Health and Sanitation), Hillary Koech (Transport and Infrastructure) and Jacob Tanui (Lands, Environment and Natural Resources).

Governor Sang also nominated Valentine Chumo, who contested for the Nandi Women Rep seat for the committee of Tourism, Culture and Social Welfare.

“Pursuant to article 179(2) (b) of the Kenyan constitution 2010 and Section 30(2) (d) and 35 of the County Government Act, I hereby forward the following nominees for the positions of the County Executive Committee members for statutory vetting,”read part of the letter to the County Assembly.

Mrs. Teresa Morogo, who has been serving as the County Deputy Human Resource Manager was also nominated Administration, Public Service and E-government CEC. Other nominees are Dr. Benard Lagat (Trade, Investment and Industrialization), Stanley Baliach (Education) and Wilson Kibor (Agriculture and Co-operative development).

In the nominations Governor Sang seems to have kept his word to ensure youth and women get a lion’s share of the appointments in his government.

Not a single CEC member under former Governor Cleophas Lagat was considered in the new appointments that are awaiting the county assembly’s approval.

All the 10 nominees will likely be approved with ease by the assembly owing to support that Governor Sang enjoys from the MCAs in the current House.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *